and now….. the rest of the story.

Which, if you ask me is the best part!

Thanks to all of you who came from The Yarn Harlot’s site! I really enjoyed reading your comments! The build up to “the picture” was probably the best part of the story…other than being on Stephanie’s blog! 🙂 So, here’s the story….

Two Sunday’s ago, late in the night (read WAY past my bedtime) I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep so I check my phone for the time and see I have a text message. It’s from Lindsay and she asked me if I wanted to go to a KISS concert. Now, I haven’t been to a rock concert in ages suddenly I’m going to break the celibacy with KISS? The boy comes in from burning the midnight oil and I tell him. I decide that this might be a fun adventure…I’m ALWAYS down for an adventure and I tell her I’d love to go.

Skip ahead to Thursday…Thursdays at noon are Knitting Lunch.

Of course, I ask how she got the tickets. See, she’s new in town…like FRESH…like still finding her way around (she knows yarn stores and the grocery store, ya know, the staples) so I figured that she had to have some sort of hook up. She did, the band. Yes, the band… like the band as in KISS! NO WAY! Yup.

So Thursday night, I’m cleaning up around the house and I have this BRILLIANT idea! How incredibly cool would it be IF I could get a sock picture with KISS? I explain this idea to The Boy and he seemed skeptical. That’s cool…I’m still gonna try it. My thinking here is that this whole sock picture could not happen at all, if it doesn’t then I’ve started my Christmas knitting early…AWESOME! If I do get a picture, then I GET A SOCK PICTURE WITH KISS AND I GET STARTED ON MY CHRISTMAS KNITTING! It’s a Win/Win!  Now to decide what color to start with… the only option was Pink! (Knit Picks Felici in Matador my own cobbled together sock pattern…mind you the THIRD pair of socks I’ve ever knit. 10 year veteran here peeps and suddenly I find myself addicted to socks.)

Friday….

We head down to the concert. On the way, I fess up to the sock plan and get a very encouraging reply!  She’s been witness to my new fan-girl attitude with the Harlot so I figured she’d understand. We get to Will Call. Our tickets aren’t there yet. BOO! So we stand around waiting for them to show up. We see TONS of KISS fans in all shades of dress and makeup. THIS is the best one of the night….

Mini-Gene

I won’t go into detail of the older man in the cod piece…

So, back up to Will Call we go. She tells us that she has our tickets and comes back with a bulging white envelope. When she pulls out the All Access passes I did a little celebration dance! (Hey, I’m there with knitting, I’m not beyond a celebration dance in public!)  The guys behind us did that defeated sigh thing. Here we are, two “wholesome” looking girls and WE get the passes… hahaha. I almost resorted to childhood mocking (Na na na na na!) but my adult side won over.

Neither one of us knew how these magic plastic passes worked. We started walking around to find our way backstage. It was amazing how we just walked past people and they didn’t say a thing…NOT. A. THING. We kept waiting for someone to tell us that we didn’t belong there, but that never happened. Oh…the POWER! 🙂

After a little bit of a wait (I knit on the sock, it’s the rule!) and a few questions, we were led to this tent. Now, here is where things become a little mixed with excitement and disappointment. See, we had hoped that since Lindsay knew one of them personally we would get to at least have a quick ‘Hi’ and a picture with him before the concert. Well, this tent was where they were doing a “meet and greet”. We found out that we were getting our pictures taken with the band but we couldn’t do it ourselves. They had hired a photographer to do it for them. Bummer. I looked at Lindsay and asked her if I should still try for the sock picture. I’m starting to think that it might not be a good idea. She’s all gung-ho about it. She’s not letting me back out now, we’ve come too far!

The tent fills up and we wait for the band. After a short wait and many drunk people, in comes the band! Tommy Thayer came in first and Gene Simmons came in last. Now, that man is SCARY up close in his costume. I’ve always been a little frightened of them but with the reality of it all in my face I kinda lost consciousness for a moment. Then suddenly, we find people yelling at us and waving hands in our direction telling us what to do. “FIRST GROUP, HURRY HURRY HURRY!” Lindsay leads the way since she’s the “in” and I follow. As I pass Gene Simmons I see a fist come at my face, I jump a little and look around quickly and realize that he wants a knuckle-bump. Oh! Okay! So, I oblige the scary man in the costume and grab my yarn out of my bag and meekly ask, “Can you hold this?” Before I have the question out of my mouth Eric Singer (the drummer) grabs it from me and holds it. Just the skein, not the needles… So I fumble and say something like “well, uh, actually, can you hold….” then there are people yelling and bright lights and tons of movements so I kind gave up on that and just held it there in front of them. Two pictures and we are told to “MOVE ALONG, HURRY HURRY HURRY! NEXT GROUP!” and we start to walk away shaking hands and thanking them for the passes.

Out side the tent, we stopped. We looked at each other and asked “What just happened? Did we just get a sock picture?”

Awesome Show!

I’ll show you the completed sock tomorrow. 🙂

